Read Time:2 Minute, 47 Second

Siminalayi Fubara, the governor of Rivers State, is installing new interim chairmen for each of the state’s twenty-three local government districts.

Under heavy security, the swearing-in is currently taking place at the Government House in the state capital of Port Harcourt.

The first eleven CTC chairmen are reportedly taking the oath of office.


It happens one day after he sent the list to the factional Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Victor Jumbo.

According to reports, the legislators invited the candidates for screening as early as Wednesday morning at 8 a.m.

See the names of the caretaker chairmen nominated by Fubara below:

  1. Abua/Odua LGA – Madigai Dickson
  2. Ahoada East LGA – Happy Benneth
  3. Ahoada West LGA – Mr. Daddy John Green
  4. Akuku Toru LGa – Otonye Briggs
  5. Asari Toru LGA – Orolosoma Amachree
  6. Andoni LGA – Reginald Ekaan
  7. Bonny LGA – Alabota Anengi Barasu
  8. Degema LGA – Anthony Soberekon
  9. Eleme LGA – Brain Gokpa
  10. Emouha LGA – David Omereji
  11. Etche LGA – John Otamiri
  12. Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden
  13. Ikwerre LGA – Darlington Orji
  14. Khana LGA – Marvin Yobana
  15. Obia/Akpor LGA – Chijioke Ihunwo
  16. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA – Princewill Ejekwe
  17. Ogu/Bolo LGA – Evans Bipi
  18. Okrika LGA – Princess Ogan
  19. Opobo/Nkoro LGA – Enyiada Cookey-Gam
  20. Oyigbo LGA – – Gogo Philip
  21. Port Harcourt LGA – Ichemati Ezebunwo
  22. Tai LGA – Matthew Dike

Months after the Local Government Amendment Bill was signed into law by the Rivers Assembly, the state’s political turmoil has taken on yet another turn with this event.

Fubara refused to sign the bill, but the legislators under Martin Amaewhule vetoed it.

In cases where it is thought to be impracticable to hold elections before the end of their three-year term, the legislation gives the Rivers State Assembly the authority to prolong the terms of council chairs, their vices, and council members.

However, a judge invalidated the modified law, which led to an appeal. On June 20, 2024, the appeals court is scheduled to render a decision on the case.

Following the youths’ blockade of the secretariats on Monday, Rowland Sekibo of the Akuku-Toru local government council and Onengiyeofori George of the Asari-Toru local government council called for peace in the wake of the dispute over the extension of the terms of the local chairpersons and councillors.

They maintain that the assembly led by Amaewhule duly extended their term.

However, in support of Fubara’s order, a few young people of Ijaw descent set up camp outside the Port Harcourt Local Government Area Secretariat on Tuesday.

They brandished the flags of the Ijaw Youth Congress, danced, chanted, and sat under canopies. Some of them, in the midst of heightened security, held banners expressing support for Fubara.

Police in the oil-rich state had already issued a warning against disturbances, saying they would crack down on any such activities.

Olatunji Disu, the Commissioner of Police for Rivers, gave a speech at the Port Harcourt police headquarters, promising peace to the locals. He pleaded with the politicians and people who supported them to honor the request and put an end to hostilities while their cause was heard and decided.

But he issued a warning, saying that Rivers Police Command is prepared for battle and will not tolerate any attempt to sabotage the state’s calm in the South-South region.







0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %